Request for help and your consideration  from the "Cruisers Net"

SAVE LITTLE HARBOUR

 Southworth Development, the new owners of the Abaco Club at Winding Bay, also own one acre of waterfront property in Little Harbour, with another half acre across the road.  David Southworth has told Little Harbour residents that he plans to turn this property into a sundries shop, selling beer, ice and fishing supplies, plus a private snack bar, a 6000 sq. ft. covered parking area, and a 44 slip private marina.  This dock would stick right out into the middle of the harbour, and would involve moving a bunch of long-established moorings.  The net result for visiting boaters would be a serious lack of anchoring room (because of the dock, plus increased density of moorings in the remaining harbour area), increased boat traffic, pollution, noise, bright lights, etc.  The marina would be for Abaco Club members only, and not available to cruising boats. 

 

If you think this is a bad idea, please email any or all of the people listed below, and please CC all letters to David Southworth.  Thank you for your support!

 

David Southworth        dsouthworth@southworthdevelopment.com

 

Tim Sullivan                tsullivan@southworthdevelopment.com

 

Abaconian                    bradleyalbury@gmail.com

 

Nassau Tribune            letters@tribunemedia.net

 

Nassau Guardian           You can go to their website , go to “contact” and fill in the message blank.  Phone Numbers: http://www.thenassauguardian.com/contact-us

 

Ministry of Tourism        tourism@bahamas.com  Address it to the Hon. O.H. Wilchcombe,  Minister of  Tourism.

 

BEST                            bestnbs@gmail.com  Address it to Mr. Philip Weech, Director,   Bahamas Environment, Science and Technology Commission

 

BIA                            bia@bahamas.gov.bs  Address it to Mrs. Joy Jibrilu, Director   of Investments,   Bahamas Investment Authority

 

Prime Minister            primeminister@bahamas.gov.bs.  Address it to “The Rt. Hon. Perry Christie,   Prime Minister”   and start the letter “Dear Prime Minister”.

 

BNT                         (Bahamas National Trust) 

                                Eric Carey, Executive Director        ecarey@bnt.bs

                                 David Knowles, Director of Parks (and head guy on Abaco)  dknowles@bnt.bs

                                  Kaderin Mills (runs Marsh Harbour office)  kmills@bnt.bs